A+ A A-

2019: Group To Moblise 15m Votes For Atiku

  • Written by Yusuf Adeoye
  • Category: Politics
  • Hits: 116

b_600_400_16777215_00_images_ATIKU.jpgThe Atiku Global Support Group, a pro-democracy outfit promoting political ideology of former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, on Tuesday in Abuja inaugurated its National Executive Committee.
The group, which is an association of volunteers consisting of Nigerians from different backgrounds, is committed to advocacy and campaign inspired by the antecedents, experience, reputation and enduring value of Abubakar.
Addressing journalists at the inauguration, the National Coordinator of AGSG, Alhaji Gambo Jagindi, said the group emerged out of a desire to galvanise massive support for Abubakar to become the president in 2019.
Jagindi, who described Abubakar as an embodiment of democracy, said the movement was inspired by his enviable profiles, which undoubtedly distinguished him among many politicians in the country.
According to him, Abubakar has contributed immensely to the development of democracy and democratic institutions in Nigeria, and thus deserves to be reciprocated by all Nigerians, especially the youth.
He urged the executive members to evolve strategies on how to mobilise no fewer than 15 million eligible voters for Abubakar across the nooks and crannies of the country.
The group, he explained, was working round the clock to win the support of both members of the Peoples Democratic Party and other electorate to actualise the political ambition of Abubakar.
According to Jagindi, the group is convinced that Abubakar stands a better chance of winning the next presidential election in 2019.
The national coordinator advised members of the group to be law abiding and civil in their approach in the course of canvassing support for the former Vice President among the people at the grassroots.
Jagindi disclosed that very soon, the group would open its secretariat across the 36 states of the federation and FCT in addition to its National Secretariat in Abuja.
Other Executive members of the group are, Lord Ogenyi, National Secretary; Abu Sultan Ahmed, Director, Media and Publicity; Sadiq Bida, Treasurer; Mohammed Ndagi, National Organising Secretary; and Isa Yahaya, Director of Social Media.
Others are Tunde Oguntola, Public Relations Officer; Ambassador Innocent Ugwuanyi, Contact and Mobilisation Officer; and Jesica Dogo, National Woman Leader.

Advertise with us

ad bot.jpg


Most Read

Join the conversation